Sarah R. Callender

Listen!

In General on May 31, 2011 at 6:11 am

I stumbled across this fabulous blog, Writer Unboxed, a few weeks ago, and the lovely Therese Walsh kindly allowed me to post a bit of writing. The essay I wrote, “Listen!” pertains to writing, but the idea of listening (and learning when not to listen) to one’s Inner Hums can be applied to everyone’s life.

Check it out, and if you’re a writer-type, subscribe to Writer Unboxed.

Mosey on over. Here’s the link: http://writerunboxed.com/2011/05/31/listen/#more-8770

Thanks, as always, for reading.

s

  1. I read your original essay and absolutely LOVED it! As a novelist AND a gal who married her ex-husband (we were apart for a year and got back together…guess it was meant to be!) I can SO relate to this. There’s something to be said for marrying your best friend and for finding peace in your marriage and through your writing.

  2. Reading your blog is like opening a window to a soft breeze, so effortless it seems. It is refreshing, honest, tickling, and truly inspiring. Knowing only the title of your novel and nothing more… you had me at Orange.

  3. So happy to see all the inspiring posts to you on “Writer Unboxed”. You deserve them all. Your post intrigued me as well as I have been told that I have a budding 8 year old writer in my house. Not sure where she got it from but after reading your article I now understand a little more about her struggles. She can write amazing stories but never unless she is inspired – she refuses to write anything ordinary and sometimes can’t complete her assignments. Any advice for her at 8 1/2? Or for me? 🙂

    • Thanks so much, Shannon. What a nice note! As for your daughter, my first thought was, “Oh how COOL!” My second thought (as a mother of Will (8) and Anna (6)) was, “Oh, what a nightmare pain in the neck!”

      My daughter is nutty-creative, not so much in writing but with art and music. She can’t be rushed; it’s hard for her to do more traditional assignments; she must work at her own pace. My advice to you? Get her in writing opportunities outside of school (this can be a formal class or just a regular, nighttime writing/journaling activity) so she has a place where she can be her hyper-creative-writer self. I really believe being a writer means using writer muscles; the more you use them, the easier it is to use them. If she uses and develops and strengthens her writer muscles, she’ll be better able to use them on “important” things like THAT CLASS ASSIGNMENT. Argh! Aren’t kids irritating? I have realized that I only like creative kids in theory. In reality, they are really quite a bother. 🙂

      It also sounds like she’s irritated with “ordinary” assignments? Yep. Some kids, as you know, will learn it’s easier to play the game and just do the darn assignments; others will refuse. You and I, we played the game, right? Maybe being a parent is about teaching our kids, at an early age, that they need (to some extent) to play the game, BUT once they’re finished with that irritating assignment or whatever, that’s when the fun really starts. That’s kind of called “being a grown-up,” no? Anyway, I’m just rambling. My daughter is still willing to do the dumb assignments, but her teacher has warned me those days of obedience are numbered. I’ll be calling on you for advice in a year or two. 🙂

      Thanks so much for your note! Keep me posted. If you ever want to send some of her writing my way, I would LOVE to read it and make some comments. 🙂

  4. Sarah – LOVE it, and what glowing comments from Therese! You are a TOTAL rock star and I am so happy to know you! Bxox

  5. Incredible! You certainly are a rock star! Although I’m not a writer, I can understand those Hums. For me it’s before a session, or when a client has a special request of some kind, etc. I’m still trying to hear mine. They become more familiar each time I try to listen, but I also need to trust them to “carry me”.

Leave a Reply

